Tiramisu Napoletana

IMG_0375

This is my new favorite dessert!

I made this recipe for this month’s Facebook Cookbook Club’s theme – Italian dishes.  I was so excited for this theme because of my love for all things Italian – well, most things. 😉
IMG_0366

In the summer of 2006, I was blessed with the chance to intern at a University in Naples, Italy.  While I was there I took a cooking class where we made this Tiramisu recipe.  I remember thinking how the chef made everything look so simple – simple ingredients, simple methods.  Well, when I got the cookbook from the class and opened it up back in the US, it didn’t look quite as simple.  The measurements were all in grams (what?!?) and espresso is tricky to locate in American grocery stores let alone make in this foreign coffee maker I now owned (see above).

IMG_0378

Well, finally in 2013, I decided it was time I tackle this recipe.  Thanks to google and a scale, I was able to make quick work of converting and measuring out the ingredients.  When the recipe was all said and done, the only thing that didn’t feel “simple” was the part where I had to brew espresso in my little espresso maker 6 times in order to have enough for the recipe….need a bigger espresso maker!  Does anyone know if you can use the keurig for espresso? If so, I’m an idiot.

Here’s a photo of the sponge cake…it blows my mind that it just used eggs, flour, and sugar! See…so simple.

IMG_0367

IMG_0370

Brandon tried some of the espresso in the little cups I brought back from Italy.  He was very dainty about it. 🙂

IMG_0371

IMG_0372

Assembling the layers of sponge cake and cream filling…

IMG_0373

IMG_0374

YUM…we totally had passive aggressive discussions about who got the last piece.

IMG_0375

TIRAMISU NAPOLETANA

(Adapted from Mami Camilla’s La Cucina Napoletana cookbook by Chef Longo Biagio)

 Active Work Time 45 minutes; Total Prep Time 1 hour, 30 minutes (Serves 8)

 SPONGE CAKE

  • 5 eggs
  • 2 ½ cups (500 grams) white sugar
  • 4 cups (500 grams) flour, plus extra
  • Butter
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (160 degrees C).
  2. Using electric mixer, beat eggs and sugar together on high speed 20 minutes or until creamy and fluffy.
  3. Gradually add flour to mixture, continuing to beat, until batter is completely mixed.
  4. Butter and flour 9×13 pan (or 10” round pan or 2 small round pans). Pour batter into pan.
  5. Bake 40 minutes. Let cool 10 minutes.
  6. Turn out of pan.  Using a large knife, cut cake into two layers.  Then, cut cake into smaller rectangular pieces.

FILLING

  • 1 cup (250 grams) whipping cream
  • 1 cup (250 grams) mascarpone cheese
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 5 Tbsp. white sugar
  • 4 ½ tsp. (25 grams) vanilla
  • 1 Tbsp. San Marzano liqueur – I used a coffee liqueur bc I couldn’t find San Marzano
  1. Using electric mixer, beat cream on high speed until stiff peaks form; set aside.
  2. Beat eggs and sugar on high speed until well blended.
  3. Add mascarpone cheese and whipped cream; continue to blend.
  4. Add vanilla and liqueur; mix well.

ASSEMBLY

  • Sponge Cake
  • 2 cups brewed coffee, black – I used espresso
  • Cream filling
  • 4 Tbsp. cocoa powder
  1. Spread a thin layer of cream filling.
  2. Soak cake pieces in coffee until saturated, but still hold together.
  3. Put down a cake layer.  Top with 1/3 of remaining cream filling. Repeat until three layers have been used.  Top final layer with remaining cream.
  4. Refrigerate 8 hours or overnight.  Sprinkle with cocoa powder before serving.

Linking to…

Blissfully Ever After

Leave a Reply

