Sneaky Smoothies for Toddlers

Does anyone have a toddler that loves vegetables? If so, what is your secret?!? My little guy is not a fan at all.

Green beans – no way.

Carrots – yeah right.

Sweet potatoes – okay, maybe…but probably not.

What I’ve been doing lately to get his veggies in him is sneaking them into a smoothie.  Hehehe. 😉

Just like when I made his baby food, I pureed some veggies and froze them in ice cube trays (about 1 oz. each).  Wholesomebabyfood.com is a great resource for how to prepare all the different types of veggies, fruits, grains, and proteins for babes/kids.

I had these cubes of butternut squash in the freezer, so I used a few of them.  I’ve used pureed cubes of broccoli or green beans before too…Little B never knew! 🙂

IMG_0359

Next, I stuck all the frozen items (squash cubes, blueberries, a banana) in our Magic Bullet container and microwaved them for about 30 second to soften them up a bit.  I didn’t want everything too frozen for the sake of our little blender…it’s not the most powerful blender on the block, that’s for sure!

Then, I added some yogurt, stuck the cap on, and blended her up.

IMG_0358

This is the result.  You’d never guess there were veggies in there!

IMG_0360

IMG_0361

Then, give it to your toddler to enjoy! The semi-frozen state of the smoothie is great for teething toddlers!  Little B got a little too excited and dropped the cup on the floor.

“Uh-oh,” he says.

IMG_0362

So we put it into a bowl and gave him a spoon. Apparently, he likes it!  🙂 {As I reread this, I’m realizing it sounds like we gave him smoothie off the floor. haha! Don’t worry, we only gave him what was left in the cup…I feel like I should clarify that. 🙂 }

IMG_0364

As you can see, we’re not afraid of messes at this house.

IMG_0363

Sneaky Smoothie Recipe

  • 3 ice cubes (about 3 oz. or 1/3 cup) of pureed veggies (we used butternut squash)
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries (we get the big bag from Costco)
  • 1 small frozen ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup yogurt (we used Stonyfield Banilla flavor)

Microwave frozen ingredients for about 30 seconds to soften up a bit.  Add the frozen ingredients and yogurt to a blender.  Blend. Serve. Enjoy!

One thought on “Sneaky Smoothies for Toddlers

Leave a Reply

