Unsolicited Advice – Measuring Flour

IMG_0266

Let me just begin by saying that I am not at all an authority on flour-measuring or any form of cooking whatsoever.  I was just making up some Zucchini Bread the other day and thought, “I wonder if everyone else measures flour like I do? If not, how do they do it? Would they like to know how I do it?”

This is the kind of self-talk that comes from writing a blog now.  Thanks, blog.

So, if you are interested, here are two ways that I measure flour…without putting it through the sifter. 

Grandma, am I doing this right? 🙂

Method #1:  Three Dirty Dishes

I leave this little whisk in my flour container permanently.  Never gets washed.  Then, when I’m ready to take out some flour, I whisk all the flour in the container so it is nice and airy, rather than tightly packed or compacted as it is after storage and handling.

IMG_0264

Next, I use a large spoon to gently scoop flour into the measuring cup.  Again, the goal is to keep the flour as airy as possible.

IMG_0266

Finally, I use the side of the whisk to level off the flour.  That’s it!

IMG_0268

Method #2:  One to Two Dirty Dishes

This method definitely cuts down on the number of dishes that are dirtied while cooking, but it requires a handy little kitchen scale.  It also requires this nice little measurement converter from the  King Arthur Flour website.  It’s really awesome.

So, all you have to do here is set your bowl on the scale.

IMG_0269

Zero out the scale.

IMG_0272

Use the King Arthur Master Weight Chart to determine how much flour you will need.  For All-Purpose flour in my example here, 1 cup = 4-1/4 oz. weight.  My recipe calls for 3 cups flour, so…

4-1/4 oz. x 3 = 12-3/4 oz. weight

I can either spoon the flour into the bowl or just dump it in from the container to achieve this weight.

IMG_0270

Here’s a picture of my scale…

IMG_0276

Hope this helps someone or at least cuts down on dishes!

How do you measure flour? Is there a better way that I’m missing out on? Please let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Unsolicited Advice – Measuring Flour

  1. Right on 🙂 I could not do without a scale 🙂 I use it daily! Your recipes come out the same every time if you weigh the Flour, Brown Sugar etc.! It is especially helpful when baking. I also like your first method of measuring, if you don’t have or want to purchase a scale 🙂

  2. Pingback: 47 Baking Hacks That You Shouldn’t Live Without

Leave a Reply

